What Am I Doing So Far?

Here are just a few things that I am doing at the moment in an attempt to limit the damage that I (and Hubby and dog) do to the Earth and make us less reliant on the perils of consumerism.

Compost toilet
Woodburner – free wood where we can
Do not buy anything made with animal products
Cruelty free skin care products
Grow own produce at allotment
Compost all scraps/floor sweepings/kitchen towel
Get rid / no more buying plastic
Vegan

There is so much more that we can do. I am going to do some research about homemade beauty products and cleaning products. I already have all the stuff that I need to make clothes washing liquid, so that will be my first project. I did try soap nuts and the washing balls, but I can’t say I was impressed. Hubby is a builder and his clothes get filthy – I just don’t think the nuts and balls (take that which way you like!) could cope with the grime.
But I have found a recipe that involves bi-carb and soda crystals. I will report back once I have tried it.

20140513-141445.jpg

This is our woodburner, which provides all the heat for the barge. Once it gets going it chucks out a lot of heat. We are always collecting up free wood and thanks to the stormy, windy weather that we have had this winter, our wood store is quite full, ready for next winter. Hubby is currently breaking up some old fence panels that he has been given to build up a store of kindling too. This really is the cheapest form of heating that we could possibly have. I also use the top of the woodburner to cook and boil a kettle when it is alight, so again we save fuel and money.  It is so cosy to sit in front of the fire on a cold evening.

This entry was posted in Barge, Frugal Living, Green Living, Houseboat, Off Grid, Self Sufficiency, Simple Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

